Share this page:
Other services (opens in new window)
Sets a cookie

BBSRC researchers recognised with European honour

11 November 2010

The strength in excellence of the BBSRC research community has been recognised with the awarding of prestigious life membership of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO) to a large number of current BBSRC-funded scientists.

Life membership of EMBO recognises outstanding research contributions in the life sciences.

Maria Leptin, EMBO Director, said: "We welcome this year's group of exceptional scientists and look forward to their fresh input and ideas to advance the life sciences."

The EMBO announcement highlighted the range of research covered by the award recipients, including those from rapidly developing fields such as systems biology.

63 scientists across Europe, US, Japan and Taiwan were recognised in this year's awards. These included eight current BBSRC-funded researchers:

  • Prof Judy Armitage, University of Oxford
  • Prof Keith Caldecott, University of Sussex
  • Prof Gideon Davies, University of York
  • Prof Ernest Laue, University of Cambridge
  • Prof Carol Robinson, University of Oxford
  • Prof Miltos Tsiantis, University of Oxford
  • Prof Malcolm White, University of St Andrews
  • Prof John Wood, UCL

Amongst other recipients of EMBO life membership, other scientists with links to, or previous funding from, BBSRC included Prof Keith Gull. Prof Gull, who works at the University of Oxford, was formerly Chair of the Governing Body of the Institute for Animal Health, an institute of BBSRC.



BBSRC Media Office

tel: 01793 414694