Bioscience for Society Strategy Panel

BSS provides strategic input on the social dimensions of the conduct and outcomes of research supported by BBSRC.

In order to fulfil its responsibilities the Panel works closely with BBSRC's other Strategy Advisory Panels.

BSS is responsible for:


Sir Roland Jackson (Chair) – Sciencewise-ERC
Ms Wendy Barnaby – Independent
Dr Jane Calvert – The University of Edinburgh
Professor Joanna Chataway – RAND Europe​
Professor Mark Hankins – University of Oxford
Dr Christine Hauskeller – University of Exeter
Professor Brian Ilbery – Countryside and Community Research Institute
Dr Sandra Knapp – Natural History Museum
Mr Patrick Mulvany – UK Food Group
Dr Erinma Ochu – University of Manchester
Dr Martyn Pickersgill – The University of Edinburgh
Dr Gene Rowe – Independent
Dr Patrick Sinnett-Smith – Pfizer Ltd
Dr Kate Weiner – The University of Sheffield
Mr Rob Yorke – Independent

Meeting dates and minutes

Minutes and agendas for the past 3 years can be found below. If you would like to view minutes and/or agendas older than 3 years, please contact us using the details below.


30 January

20 May

24 September


11 January

22-23 May

19 September


18 January

17 May

12 September


28 January

19 May

30 September